Adding using keyboard arrows up/down/right/left in a game

Hello,

I’m pretty new in Axure. I was trying to find the answers by myself but could not manage it. I would be glad if someone could help me with explaining/sending the code for making the player in the game using arrows in the keyboard, and how I should do it so the player moves basically.
Thank you very much you all.

You can use the Page Key Down event with some conditional cases to test which key was pressed. Axure doesn’t seem to have good documentation for this, though… This is all I could find:

You can also search for “key pressed” in this forum to see some solutions others have posted.

Here is a quick demo I just made, though:
move ball with keys.rp (52.5 KB)

As you are new to Axure, I’ll explain how I made this…

• I dragged in an Ellipse widget, set it to 50x50 px size and red fill to make a “ball”.

• To demonstrate how movement can be constrained with boundaries, I also dragged in a Box widget and moved it behind the “ball”. The ball can only move inside the box.

• To access the “page level” interaction events, ensure you have no widgets selected, then click in the INTERACTIONS pane, then click the “New Interaction” button. You’ll see “PAGE KEY DOWN” and “PAGE KEY UP” (“down” fires like typing, and the keyboard repeat will trigger multiple event calls, so pressing and holding an arrow key will continually move the ball; the latter fires once only, when a key is released.)

• I created a conditional case to move the ball by 10px when the left arrow key is pressed.

• Think of this as a test which will happen every time a keyboard key press is detected. Any key will trigger the Page Key Down event, and “Case 1” will test if that key is the left arrow key. If so, it will fire the actions in “Case 1”, otherwise it will move on to the next case (if any exist.)