Cookie policy banner

I need to create a cookie banner on my prototype. I have a master set up on all pages, with an “Accept” button to hide it when clicked. As cookie banners work in real life, the banner shows until the button is clicked and then it doesn’t show again on any pages. I can’t work out how to get the “OnClick set hidden” functionality to work across multiple pages. What’s the best way to get this to work?

Thanks!

The way to track data across pages in Axure is with global variables. You can use the default, OnLoadVariable or create a new one, like Cookies. Since you’ve set up your cookies banner as a Master, you can have it take care of itself, so that as each page loads, it will know whether to hide or show based on the value of the global variable. It’s important to realize that in your prototype, each page has a separate instance of the Master, and when the page loads the Master will be in it’s default/initial state, just as you’ve set it in the editor. So, clicking the “Accept” button on Page 1 and hiding the banner will only apply to Page 1. When Page 2 loads, that instance of the cookies banner master doesn’t know anything about what happened on Page 1 or any other page. However, global variables are shared and persistent across all pages in your prototype.

So, in your cookies banner master, when “Accept” is clicked, it should set the value of a global variable, say, “Set value of Cookies to true” and then hide the banner. It should also have an OnLoad event with a conditional case of, “IF Cookies equals “true” hide CookiesBanner.” In this way, as each page loads, it will test if cookies have “been accepted” or not and hide the banner if needed.

You may want to invert this logic and have your cookies banner master be hidden by default, and only show if the global variable, Cookies (or whatever you want to name it) is true. Otherwise, as each page loads, that banner will briefly show and then hide, which could be disconcerting.