Feedback/Suggestions about the Outline

Before I start let me just mention briefly who I am. Nobody particularly important. But I have been doing UX work for 20 years and have used almost every prototyping tool out there… Photoshop, Illustrator, Omnigraffke, Sketch, JustInMind, Axure, Balsamiq, Visio (lol)… etc. I have worked on lot of different SaaS products for enterprise. I’ve worked in Mobile. I currently work on ridiculously complex desktop software for the finance industry. I was also a Product Manager for 10 of those years and so I understand the challenges Product faces when making roadmaps and gathering all the data to decide what to build.

My current company has settled on Axure for our prototyping software and in general I really like it. It was in fact at my suggestion that we’re using it.

That said… there are some features that I feel are missing… specifically with the Outline panel.

Overall, my take is that the tool is lacking some functions for managing large numbers of widgets in the outline. Stuff you get with your windows or mac file system and that people have become accustomed to. It makes working with really complex prototypes more labor intensive than I’d like.

Here’s a list of the ones that are currently bothering me the most.

1. Selecting an object on the screen does NOT open the Outline to that object… that is very frustrating! Let’s say I copy and paste four groups called
    Item 1
    Item 2
    Item 3
    Item 4

Now I have
Item 1
Item 2
Item 3
Item 4
Item 1
Item 2
Item 3
Item 4