How do I filter repeaters according to a timeframe?

repeater-widget
newbie-question

Hi all!
I am just learning repeaters and can’t understand how to set up filters for a range of time. I see that I can filter per letter or number, but it seems that with the colon in the mix (i.e. 13:00), the functionality breaks. I want to be able to filter time results in an XL file, so that I display a range from 12:00-15:00, for instance. I can sort of figure out workarounds, but I want to properly understand how to solve for this.

I realize this is a basic question, but I can’t find an answer anywhere. Can someone please help?

You can use substr() to parse out the characters you want to filter by. This is pretty easy if you’re using a 24-hour clock. If you’re a silly American like me, that’s used to AM/PM, it gets trickier (but still doable). :smile:
Filtering_Time.rp (80.0 KB)

Things will get more complicated if you want to start filtering ranges longer than a single 24 hour period. Computers and date/time get’s annoying fast.

Thank you, @huban! I am a silly American as well, so having the example is great. Isn’t it so nice using “standard” measurements?? :smiley:

I am going to play with the file, and follow up if I can extra questions. Again, I really appreciate this!

@huban Can you explain in baby steps what you’re doing with the substr(0,2) line of code? I am coming from a background design, so my programming is limited to some html (and BASIC :stuck_out_tongue:)

[[Item.Start.substr(0,2) > wgt_Start.substr(0,2) && Item.Start.substr(0,2) < wgt_End.substr(0,2)]]

When I read this, I see that you’re saying the item (i guess, time) is bigger than the Start widget plus the item; and the same item (i guess time) is smaller than the End widget.

Does that sound about right?

Item.Start is referencing the column named “Start” in the repeater. It’s where the time value is stored for each row.