Interactions have stopped working in Preview mode despite them being visible as interactive hotspots

Hi all, I’m a relative newbie to Axure but my skills are definitely improving. However yesterday I have encountered a problem that i cannot diagnose and its causing me a real headache.

I’ve been developing a large prototype HCI at work for some weeks now. After introducing changes to a completely separate area of the interface I have come back to run a preview of an area that was previously functioning perfectly well and I can no longer interact with the widgets therein. ( I have not edited this area at all for some weeks). The Features are all highlighted as interactive hotspots in the preview view, but I cannot make them work. Interestingly the the features themselves are text boxes with a white background style. However, in preview mode they now appear grey as if being seen “through” another layer?

I’ve checked for obvious things such as foreground widgets / dynamic panels blocking access to the interactive features,(I’ve fallen foul of this little nugget before) but there does not seem to be any evidence of this as far as i can see. Are there any handy debugging tools in Axure that could help me diagnose what is going on?
I note previous suggestions on the forum suggest using the Inspect feature in the html to diagnose the problem. Any guidance on this would be greatly appreciated

I do wonder if this kind of thing can happen as the result of the model getting corrupted in some way? Axure stalled on me the other day when I used the search and replace function.
I had an error dialog pop up, but I was able to dismiss this and continue with no apparent ill effects. Is this a possible cause of my difficulties?