New to Axure, looking to recreate a "minimal form" interface

Hey all — I’m new to Axure, having added it to our team’s toolkit so we can do some more realistic prototyping of forms (compared with Sketch+InVision).

We’re looking to build out a concept that’s based largely on this minimal form interface. Importantly, I want the ENTER or RETURN key to proceed to the next field — after validating the current one, and I want an animation on the progress bar (I have a hunch that’s important for communicating what it does, more than animating the question text, etc.). Field placeholder copy should change on focus, and a “press ENTER” message should show up on the right once it’s focused.

Overall I want to keep people on the keyboard, flying through this mighty form.

Does this seem feasible? Any hints/tips are greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Yes, you can use an OnKeyUp interaction to detect whether the key that has been pressed is a Return, then use that to check conditions on the field and fire show/hide on a validation message or move the focus to the next field.

1 Like

For Text Field and Text Area widgets, you can assign a “Submit button” (right-click the widget and select “Assign Submit Button” or click the three-dot menu to right of the widget name in the Interactions pane.) The Click or Tap event of this button will be fired when the Enter key is pressed while the field is in focus. Use this submit button to validate your field’s contents and set the focus to the next field. The “submit button” can be any widget, it does not need to be an actual “Button” widget, and it can be hidden.

Your example has an arrow which would be appropriate to use for the submit button, as the user could either click on it or hit Enter on the keyboard. I’ve done some questionnaire prototypes similar to this, so I adapted one to use the behavioral styling of your example in this demo:

minimal form survey.rp (127.4 KB)