Persist Repeater cell / row content when adding a new row

repeater-widget

Hey folks,

I am new to Axure and especially Repeaters, started two weeks ago so please bear with me.
It’s downright an amazing tool so far but I haven’t quite managed to make the content of each row (or cell) in a repeater maintain its content.

Here’s what’s going on (prototype attached):

• I am using a button to add new rows to the Repeater
  • I am keeping a record of the number of rows through a global variable ‘repRowCount’. OnPageLoad it is initialised with 1 because there is 1 row on the Repeater by default
  • when the button is pushed, the global Var get updated with [[LVAR1.itemCount]] where LVAR1 is the repeater widget
  • I am using the Repeater as a bit of a layout component in such a way that it pushes down the content below. Hence the clunky workaround when adding a new row. I hide the Repeater, then add a row, and then show the Repeater again. This seems necessary in order to be able to push content below.

So hopefully you can nudge me into the right direction of making row contents persistent. I am aware the every time I add a row, the entire Repeater refreshes/reloads.

Thanks a lot
PersistRow.rp (56.8 KB)

Select all in a Repeater Table

Btw, I posted this in Axure RP 9 because that’s the version that I currently have to work with. My client is planning on upgrading soon, though, so I’d be happy to see an Axure RP 10 solution, as well :slight_smile:

First off, welcome to Axure! Congratulations on trying to tackle repeaters–they are powerful but probably take the most time to learn of any Axure feature. You can refer to the Axure RP9 Documentation for Repeaters, and search this forum for specific repeater questions–you’ll find tons of posts.

If you want data to be persistent in a Repeater, you need to have columns to store this data in your repeater’s datasheet (see the DATA section in the STYLE panel when your Repeater widget is selected.)