Product Card Comparison Counter

Hi,

I’m trying to prototype a product card grid comparison feature. The grid is repeater. Each card has rollover and selected modes in dynamic panels. This grid page allows up to 3 items selected for comparison. If the user clicks the 4th one, it will get a popup saying max 3 is allowed, something like that. The idea is to set an upper limit of how many products you can compare at a time. I would like to know what’s the best way to count how many products have been selected/unselected and what’re the items(name, image, etc). These variables will be passed onto a floating bottom tray showing the thumbnails of products selected and there’s a “compare” button which will trigger a full screen modal showing the spec break down of each product side by side.

I suspect I could use repeater data fields to count the “selected” products. But I’m a newbie when it comes to repeater(a brain twister to me), not sure how would I get started. What would be the best way to set this up in Axure? Thanks.

KB

You can add an “isSelected” column to the product repeater that gets set to “true” whenever a card is clicked. Then you can increment/decrement a counter based on the number of selected cards.

I’d also make your “Compare” list a repeater as well, just to make moving data around a bit easier, and avoid a bunch of complicated global variables.

Product_Compare.rp (66.4 KB)

Thank you, wow! I’m getting better with repeater now. It’s one thing to know how it works, it’s entirely different when you know how to use it creatively. The idea of making the compare tray as a one cell repeater and add more columns as the main repeater items are selected is marvelous.