Realtime calculator updates

Hi all!

I’m fairly new to Axure and I’m trying to create a basic calculator which gives a cost estimate for a house move, but updates in realtime, without a submit button.

I’ve attached a screenshot, so the idea is the the total cost would equal:

Property Price: x0.25 (i.e. £500,000 x 0.025 = £12,500)
No. of bed: +£50 (i.e. 3 bed button = £150)
Property Distance: + £2 per mile (i.e. 50 miles = £100)

In the example above the total cost would equal = £12,750.

Can anyone advice on the formulas I would need to get this to work, or if it’s even possible for it to work?

Thank you!! :slight_smile:

Hi, I assume it will work :wink:
Just use local variables. But the action itself must be triggered by something. In this case I think property distance is mandatory field and it can trigger (OnFocus) the calculation itself and put it as PropertyPrice text , right ? That way you can fake realtime calculation. And then if you change for example No of beds the action will be triggered by OnClick on button itself etc.Just the idea.

Karel

Sorry I’m a real newbie, so I’m not sure how to do that!

I’ve worked out the property price field using:

On lost focus
Set Text on ‘Total cost - number’ equal to [[This.text * 0.025]]

However, when i’ve tried to use a similar for a no. of beds buttons it doesn’t work, only shows the formula. This is the formula I tried which didn’t work:

On click
Set text on ‘Total cost - number’ equal to [[propertyprice.text + 50]]

Don’t know what to do :frowning:

How can I reference the property price field? I.e. take the calculation from the property price field & add 50 to it?

Thank you!

Edit I see PierreJ was faster :smile:

interaction pane click Set text and in value type your expression. You can reference to other widget by using Text on widget too. But its same as enter Local variable [(LVAR1)] and then reference to it by value [(LVAR1)] like

Set text on YourField equal to [(LVAR1)]