A few observations, glitches and hitches about RP 9

Hi, I’ve been a user of Axure since v5, and as I’m not a developer I enjoy what it can create, as these prototypes allow my design team to test and showcase to stakeholders in order to get buy-in and funding prioritisation.

I’ve been building a prototype in Axure v8 for a project at work and then, since it hit a natural re-factoring breakpoint (MVP to MMP) at about the time when v9 was released, I decided to pull what I had into v9 so I could learn the new interface with a real project. This has been … interesting; it is great to see some annoyances have gone and frustrating to see a few new odd (in my opinion) design choices introduced.

Anyway, I understand how these things happen, so rather than just saying Grrr at my monitor, I figured I’d be as constructive as possible and give some feedback on the things I’ve observed that could potentially be enhanced. I’m using Axure RP 9.0.0.3653 on Windows 10 Pro 10.0.017134.523.

• Window+Left arrow shrinks Axure to top-left quarter of screen instead of left half of screen (so this is non-standard behaviour for Windows).

• When Axure is shrunk to a smaller-than-full-screen window and the ‘Zoom’ control in the header menu is not visible, it is also not shown in the ‘expand’ chevron where we expect it to be.

• When selecting a component in a dynamic panel, if the panel is ‘contracted’ in the outline tree view, then there is no visible indicator where in the tree one is working. Suggestions: 1) auto-expand the outline tree to show the active component, or 2) highlight all the visible ‘parents’ of the active component in a different style.