A Way to Add Lottie Animations to an Axure Prototype

I couldn’t find anything online on how to implement animations rendered with Lottie into Axure prototypes so I did some experimenting. I am by no means an expert, so I’m sure there are more efficient ways of doing this. Hopefully this is helpful to someone who was searching for a solution like me.

What is Lottie?
Lottie is an iOS, Android, and React Native library that renders After Effects animations in real time, allowing apps to use animations as easily as they use static images. It was actually created by the smart folks at Airbnb

There are a few things needed before we get started.

[ul]
[li]Download the bodymovin plugin for After Effects. This will allow you to export animations to svg/canvas/html.
[/li]
https://github.com/bodymovin/bodymovin

[li]A text editor of some kind. I really like Sublime Text, but use whatever you are comfortable with. We will only be using it to copy the code.
[/li]
https://www.sublimetext.com/

[li]An animation of some kind that was made in After Effects, or if you want to use one of the great pre-made ones off of LottieFiles feel free, just get the code for it.
[/li]
https://www.lottiefiles.com/

[/ul]

Let’s Get Started

1. If you are exporting an animation from After Effects, export the animation using the bodymovin extension for After Effects and make sure the export option is Demo (exports an html for local use)

2. In Axure, create a page for the animation and create a dynamic panel on the page at 0,0. Name both the page and dynamic panel so they are easy to identify later. You can place the animation page in a folder called “Animations” or “Source” since these won’t be touched unless you want to resize it. This will be used as the “Source” for that animation. It will make sense on step 9

3. Now publish this project to Axure Share.

4. On Axure Share find the project that you just published and in the configure menu dropdown
    select Plugins.