Adding an Animated GIF

Hello Group,

As many of you know, most responsive web designs, and most startup screens on abs, now include HD animated GIFs. I have been trying to add, import, create, or marginally make this happen within my prototype. However, I get the first frame, the first frame only, and nothing I can do will instantiate the animation.

I apologize for the remedial questions; I am a software engineer trying to illustrate a point, rather than spending days or weeks writing the actual code, just to have someone be fussy about it later. lol

Thank you for all of your help!

Respectfully…

apps* (lol)

The GIF is included in the page as soon as it is loaded and will immediately play whether or not it is visible to the user. Is the GIF visible on load of the page or are you hiding it until some action happens? Are you sure it’s an animated GIF (silly question but have to ask)?

This is for version 6 but should still apply: http://www.axure.com/c/forum/6-x-general-discussion/4983-answered-setting-dynamic-panel-state-triggers-animated-gif.html

1 Like

So, inspired by your answer – I tried the following, and it worked:

First, I dropped the animated GIF on the page. In order for it to do what I wanted it to do, as deliberately as I wanted to do it. I right-hand mouse clicked and turned it into a dynamic panel; then placed it properly within the layer and set the condition ‘OnPageLoad’ to be shown. That way, it tells the otherwise (unbeknownst to it) un-animated to behave in its normal animated state.

What is also interesting, is that I’ve been able to create-and-set conditions to make the GIF play once, and stop despite the fact that it’s a looping file.

Thank you for the inspiration, thank you for the help, and my situation appears solved!

1 Like

Hello everyone,