Autocomplete with set text as input on key down possible?

rp-9
newbie-question
repeater-widget

Hey everyone,

I’m new to Axure and I’ve created an input field with autocomplete according to a “predictive search” tutorial. Works great!

I’m now trying to recreate the behaviour of the Angular Material input element with autocomplete active first option (this one: https://material.angular.io/components/autocomplete/overview#autocomplete-auto-active-first-option)

The behaviour I want: when typing and getting suggestions, I want to set the first autocomplete suggestion as input when pressing enter. In the linked example you can type “t” and get suggestions for “Two” and Three".
When you press enter the input will be set to the first suggested option, in this case “Two” (and it stays as input when you navigate to the next element). If you type “th” and press enter the input will be set to “Three”.

What do I need to do in Axure to achieve this exact behaviour? I find repeaters and variables still a bit confusing, what do I need to do to set the first suggestion as input text when pressing enter after the autocomplete suggestions are working as intended?

First of all, to trigger interaction code when a user has a Text Field widget in focus and presses the Enter key, you’ll need to create a “Submit button” (it can be any widget; if you don’t want it to be seen, I recommend using a Hot Spot widget.) Right-click on the Text Field widget and select “Assign Submit Button” or in the INTERACTIONS pane, Look at the “PROPERTIES” area, click “Show All” to expose the “Submit Button” droplist. Create your interaction code on this widget.

I’ll assume you are using repeater filters for your predictive search feature. When you apply a filter, you are limiting the available items (rows) in the repeater, so you will need to refer to the first item in your filtered list. You can do this with the expression, [[Item.index]] equals "1".