Calculating a sum with multiple inputs

Hi there,
I’m trying to add up the sum of three fields to display in another field. This all needs to be done upon text entry into the input fields.

In addition the number in the first field needs to display on a total line below it.

I’m running into problems with getting the sum to display. Instead it shows the actual text [[Input1 + Input2 + Input3]] not the sum of the numbers. You can see this on the screenshot.

Help! I’m a newbie.

To sum and subastract values from Inputs

Without seeing the file we can only guess:

1. You never defined those variables.
  2. Those variables don’t have the values you think they do.
  3. Any number of other reasons.

My money is on number 1.

Sorry that still doesn’t help. Can you share the file? Check that you have those variables actually defined.

Sure. Give me a minute to send the actual file. I had defined the variables (although maybe incorrectly). In the screencap above though I had removed those and just used the name of the item in the equation. This did not help either.

Sum.rp (109.2 KB)

It looks like you have three variables that are undefined. And that’s why it’s failing. You’re using variables AuthorizedAmountMaster, OutstandingBalance, and NewFunds but those are not defined as local variables or global variables so the expression fails.

It looks like you were trying to use the widget names of the other text fields. You can’t do that. Widget names are not unique so even if you could, it wouldn’t simply work that way. What if you have 20 widgets named OutstandingBalance?

Instead you should use local variables. Open the expression editor (the fx button) and in the bottom half of the window add local variables for each text field widget. Name them whatever you want, and set them to each widget’s text.

Example: LVAR1 = text on widget OutstandingBalance

Then you can use the local variables in your expression.

[[LVAR1 + LVAR2 + LVAR3]]