Filtering Repeater by Date Range

Hello,
I am a beginner but already working with some complex functionality, as I am trying to filter a repeater list by date range.
I have read through some similar posts but still cannot figure it out.

I am pretty sure it is not working currently as the item.combodate in my repeater is not a number string and I need to convert it somehow, so Axure knows which values are larger or smaller than the dates selected. this is where I am stuck.

DateRangeFilter.rp (157.5 KB)

Hi!

This is a fairly advanced thing you want to do, but it’s not quite rocket science. The thing you need to know that a date can be stored in a variety of formats, and one of them is literally the number of milliseconds that have transpired since January 1, 1970. This is a convenient format, because suddenly we have a number! So we can asks for dates greater than a particular number, less than a particular number, or between two numbers, assuming that we are always converting dates to this numeric format. The date function valueOf() parses a date in just about any format and converts the date into milliseconds. There are then other date functions we can use to convert the date from milliseconds into any date format you might want.

The strategy here is, when adding a date to the repeater, to store it in milliseconds. We will use date functions in the Item Loaded handler to display this column in a more readable form.

I’m attaching a file with a bunch of instructions, but I strongly recommend that you read this Medium article on repeaters, because in addition to helping you understand the repeater in general, it takes a dive into expressions as well as using date functions.

Preview

Sample file: store date natively in repeater.rp (71.0 KB)

How to create a date object from Unix Epoch or a given date?