Freeze repeater row and column in a dynamic panel

repeater-widget

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Axure, especially repeaters. This is my first post here too! :slight_smile: Anyway…

I have a repeater that looks like a normal table. I put it in a dynamic panel because I want to have a fixed area for it to appear in. However, as the repeater is very long, I want to freeze the first row and the first 8 columns on scrolling.

I’ve tried to use the onScroll method described here: Unfortunately, the example provided only moves a normal object on scroll. And I have no idea how to move only a single row or column in the repeater.

Can someone please teach me how? Or if you know of any other way to make those repeater rows/columns stick, please teach me too :slight_smile:

P/S: I’m on Axure8, but I am open to solutions on Axure9 too.

Thanks so much for replying! :smile:

Yup, the header is the first row of the repeater, in a different dynamic panel state.

Hi fsiqi
:slight_smile:

I canned my original reply - (it will disappear) after giving the overall problem some thought and trying a couple of things. Extracting the header row would get you halfway there so you’ll have a fixed header and scrolling table beneath.

I’d be surprised if there’s any way of fixing the 8 left hand columns whilst retaining vertical and horizontal ‘scrollability’ that’s not mind boggling.

Issues with (in no particular order)…

• scrolling precedence with nested dynamic panels
  • repeater splitting / syncing
    …make it hard or impossible to do - for me at tleast!

Though there are wiser heads I’m sure!

Separate out the header - sacrifice the split horizontal scrolling - and it’s reasonably straightforward I think.

Hi Mike, thanks for taking the time to try this out, really appreciate it!

I truly wish the header to be part of the repeater though so that it can scroll horizontally with the other parts of the table without showing two scrollbars.

Following the method described here, I tried this: