Input Field counter and field should change colours and text

Hi —

I am currently trying to create the ultimate input-field for a wireframe.

What I am trying to do:

A counter should count down from a set amount (lets say 100). The Counter, in the untouched state, shows: “100 max”.

If the user inputs a character the counter should say “99 left”.

If user inputs more than 100 (lets say 120) characters the counter should say “-20 left” — this counter-text and the border of the input field should then become red.

Is there an easy way to do this? I am pretty new to axure and have no idea how to use most of the actions or how to work with variables.

I tried something from another post (attachment) but I have no Idea how to tweak this to fit my needs.

Counter-Validation Problem.rp (47.9 KB)

@benjaminbetz,

I’ve had to do similar in the past and I know this has come up several times through the years here. I did a forum search for “character count” and came up with a number of solutions. This one, Twitter style character count, is simple and works well.

Your start is right on track…and maybe you were using the same example as a template… Your second Case statement for the input field has an “Else if…” and that would need to be converted to just “If…” because it follows and “If True…” statement, meaning it would never be called. (For some reason, the default mode for new cases is “Else if” which I find I need to change at least 80% of the time, so I’m in the habit of always right-clicking a new case and selecting “Toggle IF/ELSE IF”.) However, the rest of our conditions can be “Else If” statements because they test the length of the input string which is either one length or another.

Following the basic character counting code from the example above, and applying it to your conditions, here is a solution, and the Text Field code in it:

Counter-Validation Problem Solved.rp (49.9 KB)