Multiple Checkboxes to change button visibility

rp-7
newbie-question

Hi Axure folk,

I have a list of x6 items, each item has a checkbox to the left

I have an ‘Add Item’ button

If an item /multiple items are checked, the button should be in an enabled state (clickable)

If no item(s) checked, the button should be in a disabled state (not clickable)

Above my list of items I have a ‘master checkbox’ - this has the power to check/uncheck all item checkboxes that appear below it… you’ve seen these before…

I have set conditional logic so that:

• If the master checkbox equals>true the button is enabled

• If the master checkbox does not equal>true the button is disabled

This effectively switches on/off the two states of the button which is built as a dynamic panel.

My difficulty is with the individual checkboxes for each of the x6 items…

I’ve set the same logic for each individual ergo… if checked = enabled -or- if not checked = disabled…

But this means that if I check 3/5 items then decide ‘oh wait I only need 2/5’ so I uncheck one… the condition is saying if this individual checkbox isn’t checked then the button must be ‘disabled’… but 2/5 are still checked so the button should be’enabled’

How do I overcome this!? Help!?
example.rp (98.9 KB)

Hi jacks87,

I took a look at your file and it looks like you should be able to achieve the functionality that you’re looking for by using a global variable as a counter. For example, if you create a global variable called “Checker_boxes” that initiates at “0” and then you increment that variable by 1 every time a checkbox is enabled, you can count how many checkboxes are enabled. Similarly, every time a checkbox becomes unchecked you could subtract 1 from that variable. With this setup, every time you deselect all the checkboxes you would be left with that variable having a value of 0.