My issues with specifications

I’ve been working with Axure since 2007 and I’ve never figured out a good system for producing quality documentation. I moved away from trying a couple years ago and use it solely to produce prototypes for things like usability testing, demoing interactions, etc. For my wires and annotations, I create everything within InDesign. Every now and then, I wonder how I can use Axure as the all-in-one tool. Here are issues I’ve run into:

1. Poor Word Output Quality: In general, my group uses the wires-on-the-left/annotations-on-the-right style of documentation which shrinks down the available width for the wire. Using a vector-friendly tool like InDesign and outputting to PDF basically allows for clarity across all zoom levels.
  2. Layout Flexibility: Sometimes I need the ability to layout wires and annotations according to design needs. This includes being able to move the footnote, using arrows to point out objects on the UI, placing all wires for a specific item within one page, etc.
  3. Faking interactions: I find that making things work in the prototype will sometimes require fake or extraneous interactions. Those appear in the specifications and I have to spend time removing them.

Any thoughts on these?

Anyone?

I’ve thought about actually building a dynamic column into my prototype to contain the annotations. The content would change based on the page or actions.

Pixeler,

This is a great topic and hope that the Axure team enhances the specification generator to be more customizable in future releases. I’m in your same situation where I’ll create interactive prototypes in Axure but for wireframing I’ll use OmniGraffle. I want full control over the documentation produced. The specification document that Axure generates isn’t very pretty and for presentational purposes just doesn’t cut it.