Previous State Behavior

Hi, I’m new to Axure. I’m trying to create a back button that would take the page back to the “previous” state. Let me explain.

For example I have 4 states.

1. Tap on “state 1” links to “State 4”
  2. Tap on “State 2” links to “State 4”
  3. Tap on “State 3” links to “State 4”

Now there’s a “Back” button and I want it to return to “previous” state loaded. Like example “Back” button will take me back to “State 1” if that was the last state I was on. Or takes me back to “State 2” if it was the last state.

The current “previous” state always takes me back to “State 3” because it’s the last state on the list.

I hope I explained this clear enough. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you

2 Likes

@bjiang908, Welcome to Axure and welcome to this forum.

Dynamic panels were made for just this sort of thing. They can help create, track and jump to different page states, whether it is one, several or many dynamic panels on a page. In fact, dynamic panels are really just stacks of states, by default named, “State1”, “State2”, “State3”, etc. For example, you could select all the widgets on your page, convert them to a dynamic panel (right click that selection and choose “Convert to Dynamic Panel”), and that would be State1. Duplicate that state, change whatever you need, and that would be State2. Then you can use the “Change State” action for that dynamic panel to move between states 1 and 2. You can change the dynamic panel to a specific state name, like “State2” or a more generic “Next state” and “Previous state”.

Now, in practice it’s not that common to have every widget on a page duplicated in multiple states of one dynamic panel, but hopefully it helps explain the concept for you. You can learn more about dynamic panels in the Axure Tutorials, like this one:
https://docs.axure.com/tutorials/basics/rotating-carousel-slideshow/

… and in the Axure Documentation:
https://docs.axure.com/axure-rp/widgets/dynamic-panels/