Strange Push/Pull Issue with Accordions

newbie-question

Hi all!

I’m very new to axure (downloaded it yesterday) so I’m still trying to get my head around how some of the functionality works.

I have created an accordion group (only top level) and almost have the functionality that I want. Most accordion groups that I have seen work by being able to open and close any accordion at any time, independent of whether another accordion is open. I would like the functionality to only open one accordion at any time.
I thought this would be easy by adding a case to onClick for each accordion where the body of every other accordion gets hidden. This however fails when (for example) accordion 2’s body is shown, then opening accordion 1. This pushes accordion 3 down when it should actually stay in the same position.
I believe this is because accordion 1 is ‘pushing’ the widgets below it down when opening and accordion 2 is ‘pulling’ the widgets below it up when closing, but these processes cannot be run asynchronously?

How do I get it to work how you’d expect?
(Have a try)
Accordions_example.rp (62.6 KB)

Thanks!

Hello @benperson,

Welcome to axure world!

You have done all the interactions proper! No problems there.
What you have missed is the transition time. What is happening is, while a body is closing, another opens and push happens and that is where things start getting messed up.

Try removing the animation effect time of 200ms everywhere while hide/show/toggle. It will work as expected. Let me know if you still cant get it to work. I will try my best to provide help.

As a UX designer, let me point out. There is a difference between Accordian and Expand collapse.
In an accordian, the accordian height always remains the same. On body is open and rest are closed. It is derived from the musical instrument accordian!

However, in expand collapse, you have the freedom of closing or opening all or any number of bodies etc.

P.S. : there is a better way to do accordians.