Table Indexing for Record Retrieval

Hey – Noobie here . . . I’m a work-based learning student using axure and need to use a hidden table to store static data which will populate screen text widgets. I want to retrieve the table cell text using the values in the first column and first row (like an x, y coordinate). Is there a way to do this or do I need to name all the cells in the table to access them ?

Thanks for your help,
MJ

The short answer to your question is, “Yes. You will need to name each cell ‘widget’ in a table in order to reference them.” However, the answer could change (at least a little bit) if you’re using a repeater.

The table widget isn’t very complicated. It’s a way to quickly create a bunch of ordered boxes but there’s no logic in place to make them "aware of each other. The repeater widget, on the other hand, does work a little like a traditional database table, at least at a very basic level.

You still need to name all of the shapes inside the repeater in order to reference them, but you would only have to do it for one “row”, all subsequent rows would be created automatically. For example, a table widget with three columns and three rows would have 9 unique widgets that would all need their own name. A repeater with the same setup would only have three, one for each column in the first row.

Thank you. That helps.

For a repeater widget, how would I reference the text in one cell using row and column? When i reference by Item.Column it gives me the text in the last row of that column.

Pulling content from a specific “cell” in a repeater is possible, but it’s a bit complicated and requires being pretty comfortable with how repeaters work: Load_Specific_Cell_Data.rp (90.2 KB)

It’s kind of hard to describe what’s happening so I hope this makes (at least some) sense: