Complete beginner - falling at the first hurdle!

newbie-question

Hi,

I’m just about to begin my journey learning Axure and my first port of call has been to watch a YouTube series ‘Noob to master’. I’ve got 3 videos in and already I’m struggling to get my first interaction to work…

I’m starting very simple. All I want is a green underline to animate in when I hover over some text.

I’ve tried a number of approaches, that logically to me, should work.

1. I have my text layer ‘Coffee’ and my ‘Green shape/underline’. I select ‘Coffee’ and apply a new interaction / mouse hover / show/hide / target: shape layer / animate: slide left

In my head that translates to, when mouse hovers over coffee, green shape will slide in left. I don’t understand why this approach isn’t working.

1. Create a dynamic panel. State 1: Coffee / State 2: Coffee with green shape underline. New interaction / mouse hover / set panel state / select state 2

When I go to view the prototype the first option does nothing and the second option has some effect, but it’s a really delayed slide in and isn’t the result I’m going for.

Any help is much appreciated! Just trying to get my head the basics first before going any further.

Cheers,
Jason

Welcome to Axure!

It’s tough to know exactly what might be the problem without seeing your .rp file. You can upload it here by clicking the little “up arrow” icon in the Reply toolbar, or just dragging the file into the Reply text entry area. The steps you describe for 1 and 2 should work though.

Here is a quick demo I made to show you how I would create this, with both of your methods demonstrated. show on hover.rp (52.8 KB)

Your steps to create this are correct. Some common mistakes to check for:

• Are you targeting the correct shape (the underline) to show? Naming your widgets helps avoid this.

• Is the target shape already shown? If so, showing it again will have no effect. So your underline must be hidden before it can be “shown with animation.”