How to swap values/variables between screens

Hi guys,

I’m new to RP9.0. Being a long time Sketch/InVision user, I really like how much control RP9 has. I’ve only been using it for 3 days and really like it so far. Now I want to build a prototype based on my Sketch designs. It will require some variables and conditions which I haven’t mastered. But I suppose the only way to be good at is to experiment. I’d like to get some advice so I can learn this more effectively.

So I have this repeating list selector for evaluating a trade-in car value. It’s a screen with a check list of selectors, starting from Year, make, model to colors and options. Each button will open up a new full screen modal which has available choices for that selector. The Year modal will have years from 2020 all the way back to 2010. The Make will start with Acura(first) to Volvo(last), and the list goes on. The value you selected in the modal will be entered into the checklist button label. For instance, the “Year” will be shown as “2018” if 2018 is selected value in the modal.

There’re a few conditions are pretty tricky for me to figure out.

1. The model, trim, color, options are sequential, and depended on the previous selection. It is the order I have to keep to guide the user down the list. Maker decides what model, and trim, color, options… The following selections are grayed out(disabled) if the current selection hasn’t been made. The user can’t jump ahead.
  2. If the main check list is complete, user goes back to change the make, it will reset all the entry below it. Say you originally picked Honda -> Civic -> EX -> white, if you go back to change Honda to Toyota, the remaining list will default to the original blank state with an activated selector: Model.