Launching the camera application in android mobile prototyping

mobile-prototyping

Hello Axure,

I am a newbie to axure so please domn’t mind any rookie questions from me.

I was trying to build a mobile prototype for android. I wanted to know how can I open the camera application by using the On-click event on any widget.

Another question,
Is there any place i can get a tutoria regarding the Cases and functions so that i can increase the count of the push notification bubble (on a widget inside the application) with on click function on different hotspots?

Please help.

Thanks

Turn on / Access the web camera in an Axure prototype? (javascript)

Hi sheet5013,

You are able to launch the camera of an Android or iOS device using a “File” type Text Field. Add a Text Field widget, and then select “File” from the “Type” droplist in the “Widget Properties” Pane (right side, middle pane of UI). You won’t be able to open the camera using the OnClick of a widget. You’ll need to use the Text Field and it will automatically render a “Choose File” button. But with some clever design, you may be able to hide this button. Make the Text Field’s background transparent and lay it over another shape. You can then add another rectangle to cover the rendered HTML button. Give it a shot!

See it live! (You may want to load this on your mobile)

As for creating a counter for notifications, you may want to get familiar with variables:

Variables | Axure

And setting the text on widgets:

Set Widget Values | Axure

Let me know if you need further assistance!

Oh and :welcome: to the forum!

Camera with your own UI

Hi Tuomas,

thanks for sharing. I did a little experiement with JavaScript.

1. Accessing Camera without dialog
  2. Using returned value

Enjoy
androidCam.rp (68.7 KB)

In a similar vein… :slight_smile:

How about mechanisms for sending an SMS message from within a mobile prototype?